Poem ‘Where the Root ends’

Haji Widayat Queen Of The Jungle

I wrote this free verse poem some time ago and came across it agin today.  So inspired by the William Butler Yeats poem that I have posted on echostains, and shamefaced about not posting anything on here for a while (but I am going to post a book review tomorrow) – here is the poem.  The inspiration for this poem is one of musing about what happens about the soul after we die and everlasting life really.

 

Where the Root ends

A root of star was broken off

Flung far away out into space

 My vehicle to get between the gaps that bridge our worlds.

I slid,

I hurtled down

Headlong down times chasms,

Bolstering my fall with lifetimes long and earnest,

Burnishing my death with dreams of everlasting life.

I slept between the waiting

For a niche in which to root

And when my time had come again,

I grasped towards the light

Sometimes my hands were feeble

My murmers barely audable

Sometimes my strength revealed itself

Outgrowing it’s brute might.

But through all those hallowed halls of time

My voice shall find an echo.

Though rootless my fragmented self

My Will shall journey home.

 

© Lynda M Roberts 2010

 

image from here
2 Responses to “Poem ‘Where the Root ends’”

  1. Lynda, I just returned from a long trip to my childhood home. During each visit, cannot help but to consider my roots and forgotten memories of all that was. However, as important as that can seem, it doesn’t compare to what could be. The connection of star to soil, earth to hereafter… expressed beautifully. And yes, shame on you for not posting poetry in a while. lol Enjoy the weekend!

  2. Hhehe I am very shamefaced about the neglect of poor old Bookstains Adam! But I am glad you haven’t stopped visiting and commenting! thanks – appreciated!

Leave a Reply

