Poem ‘I could sit in a chair all day’

Wouldn’t mind sitting in this chair…

Here’s another of my ‘experimental’ poems.  Definitely more of a performance piece than static (see the irony) poem. I wrote this the other day, funnily enough as I was sat in a chair 🙂  I was thinking about all the stuff that I really should be doing and thinking to myself “well, it’s no good sitting here – there’s too much to do….” when inspiration stopped me in my tracks from doing anything but write about me sitting in a chair all day!

I could sit in a chair all day,

I could sit in a chair and get carried away

Just sat in a chair all day.

 

I could sit in a chair all day

I could sit in a chair and rant and moan

I could sit in a chair and cry into the phone

As I sat in my chair all day.

 

I could sit in a chair and cry.

I could bring several tears to a plexi glass eye,

And still sit in this chair all day.

I could sit in a chair all day,

But my worries and cares would not melt away,

If I sat in that chair all day.

I could sit in a chair all day,

Until doctors came in and took me away.

‘Cos I sat in a chair all day.

I could sit in a chair all day

And weep with regret as my life slowly froze

I could sit in a chair all day

As silvery cobwebs covered my clothes,

I could sit in a chair all day.

I could sit in a chair all day

‘Til my limbs ceased up and withered away,

‘Til my mouth went dry with nothing to say,

‘Til my heart and my blood turned a dull shade of grey

As I sat in that chair that had turned into me

And myself became glued

And I couldn’t get free

And my eyes became leather

And now couldn’t see

Me

sat in this chair all day!

©Lynda M Roberts 2011

Thanks to Vincent Van Gogh for the use of his chair (the image from here)

7 thoughts on “Poem ‘I could sit in a chair all day’

  1. ha! I have felt like this. Actually, I think I feel like this now!? But, alas… i can NOT sit in a chair all day on Superbowl Sunday, so I best get going.

    So glad to have found this blog! I’ll be back…

  2. dear lynda,

    i utterly love this poem of yours. worthy to be published to famous poetry magazines. you have done a great and obviously careful choice of wordings here and the arrangement of the lines just perfect. this is reminiscent of the works like wordsworth, teasdale and dickinson. this poem has also the spirit of charles dickens, sans the melodrama, comedic but offers reality.

    i like your experimental poetic touch here. love the lines;

    “I could sit in a chair all day

    And weep with regret as my life slowly froze

    I could sit in a chair all day

    As silvery cobwebs covered my clothes,

    I could sit in a chair all day.”

    and i like the way you ended this poem. fantastic!thank you for sharing this.

  3. Aw thanks Marvin 🙂 It’s not often I get a critique for my own poems (which seem to get lost between the challenges and the reviews) so this is really nice! and coming from a wonderful poet like yourself – a real compliment 🙂
    I’m experimenting with all sorts of styles at the moment – though this one and ‘Please Mind the Gap’ seem to be in the same style with a repetative line. I’ve put the line in continually because they are performance poems (if I ever get the courage up) and the hook lines ‘I could sit in a chair all day’ and ‘please mind the gap’ could be spoken in all different ways, even shouted.
    I don’t know about Dickens – but great thanks anyway 🙂

  4. Lol, Lynda! I hadn’t spotted this one before. I love it and it could describe me much of the time. I sit in a chair in my study/den/studio and stare into space, kind of waiting for something to change. Of course it doesn’t – one has to go and do something!
    🙂

    1. Hhehe thanks Val 🙂 I sit in this chair sometimes, planniing what I shall do…..soon.
      When I was young I used to be a real dreamer. I used to delibrately look for jobs where you didn’t have to think, because that ate into precious dreaming time 🙂 Dreaming is now in the place it belongs – but, planning has taken its place now, and making lists of stuff to do………… eventually 😀

Leave a comment