This Poem is just up your Street!

Over here (England) our favorite soap Coronation Street recently celebrated its 50 year anniversary with a tram crash!  Why? well, because we’re like that up north:-D   Wrecked buildings, homelessness, death, injury, theft and resilience were the order of the day.  The residents rallied round – and the Christmas spirit reigned (well, in some households) regardless.

The oldest resident of the street is Ken Barlow, played by William Roach.  He read a special poem, penned especially by our own Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy at the memorial service.  It’s a poem which everyone can identify with – regardless of which street you happen to live on!  Happy New Year!

If you don’t have time to watch the episode – here’s the poem:-

If someone could direct me to a street where I could stand
Cobbles beneath my feet tearful with rain;
The shadows of my hopes behind the stained- glass windows of a pub, ghosts –
I would turn up the collar of my coat, walk, number each small, terraced house by heart:
Birthplace; neighbours – hardman, hussy, haridan, hustler, hero, heroine –
Threshold, bride and groom as clueless of next year as Christmas Eve;
Or exit-place, a hearse, a raw and local grief…
Then I’d retrace my steps, perhaps a baby’s cry sharp as a sudden star nailed to the sky,
To stand now in this backstreet bar, nursing a beer
All my griefs, my gifts, and glad I live here.

poem from here Thanks!

Read the review about the Poet Laureate and Coronation Street here

2 Responses to “This Poem is just up your Street!”

  1. LOL! I read about this in a newspaper but didn’t see the episode itself. The poem’s very good and just right for The Street and the people watching, not too high and mighty.
    PS the link from Echostains didn’t work, I had to use the one on the right hand side of Echostains.

Leave a Reply

