Poem: Flash Fiction: Death of a toy

Inspired by Adam Dustus (a source of inspiration to a lot of poets), I thought I would try some  Flash Fiction.  The first time I saw mention of this was by Adam’s example.  What is it?  Flash Fiction is storytelling, but in snapshot form. There’s a smashing explanation of how to write Flash Fiction  and make it work here – and there’s great fun to be had with it too!  So, armed with inspiration and instructions I decided to start with the exercise about a child catching a red ball, using the tips the author gives.  This is what happened :- 

Death of a Toy 

he only wanted to play

Slavering child 

Shiny red ball 

Biting vinyl 

Rolling, licking 

Hairs sticking 

Exploring fingers, 

Chubby hands 

Embracing roundness. 

Footsteps falter 

Overreach and fall 

Over confidence gone. 

Game over. 

Car over. 

Punctured friend lies wounded. 

Tears come, 

Lip quakes, 

Hands wrung, 

Frustration spills 

Feet stamp 

As cries soar 

For unhappy toy. 

  

I have 49 words.  I was going for the 55 word count, but I was so intent on not wasting words like adjoining ones like ‘and’ ‘a’ and ‘ but;, that I am a little short.  Maybe next time.  I am definitely going to have another try at this, this time with my own subject matter.  The big red ball image is from here

5 Responses to “Poem: Flash Fiction: Death of a toy”

  1. So glad you decided to try your hand at this form, Lynda! The details you provide paint a clear picture of a what must seem like the end of the world to a small child. I can picture the youngster hugging the ball to the point of toppling over! Great image.”Punctured friend lies wounded”—my favorite line; thought kicks in as the child wonders what happened?!? Excellent. Looking forward to the next one 🙂

  2. Hheheh thanks Adam 🙂 can’t help but think I may have been a little too economical with the words though 🙂 I will try another, thanks for introducing me to this form of writing – appreciated and enjoyable 🙂

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Bartholomew Heaven, Lynda Roberts and Lynda Roberts, Lynda Roberts. Lynda Roberts said: Poem: Flash poetry Death of a toy: http://wp.me/pLp68-aD […]

  4. hi lynda,

    it was great to see this form of poetry evolving with you. the images are really alive to this austere delightful poem. thanks for linking me on your equally engaging blogpage.

    cheers

  5. Thanks Marvin for reading! Hope you have a go at this new form of expression – I certainly shall 🙂 I’m toying with the idea of actually making it rhyme (to make it more like poetry).
    I have a little project that I would like all my blogrollers to be included in…mysterious eh? Going to London for a few days soon, but have scheduled my blogs for each day, so I’ll put an announcement when I come back. Thanks for your encouraging comments they are much appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

