Haiku: Three for March

It’s the first day of Spring!  Here’s something I wrote when Spring had sprung a few years ago 🙂

There is a lot of Haiku poetry around.  Yes I know it’s been around for thousands of years – but I’ve only just started really appreciating it!  To think, is to do in my book.  So I thought I might have a try.  Haiku is a Japanese poem which is composed of three unrhymed lines of five, seven and five syllables.  The poem is usually about an aspect of nature.

This type of poetry is not as easy as it looks.  Though economical on words, it becomes obvious that each word has to count and convey something.  Apart from these constrictions – there’s no restriction of expression from what I can see.   I feel that it is the essence of the poem that is important.  So, seeing as I have written recently about March, the March hare, white rabbits, fertility and rebirth…..

Moonstruck

The hare stares back and 

Kicks against the  febrile moon.    

His sap has risen

 

The Interloper

Verdant energy

Bursts through the slumbering darkness

Yet casts no shadow

 

Yellow and green

 

No words worth saying

Ullswater – less, Narcissus

Springs unfettered.

 

 

My other poem experiments;

Drowned in sound (Dark) 

Her Facebook has it  (Humour)

Finding the words  (freeverse)

The hare image is from a tee-shirt available here

Daffodils by William Wordsworth (both versions)

Photosynthesis C. Lush

8 Responses to “Haiku: Three for March”

  1. […] Haiku: Three for March […]

  2. […] Haiku: Three for March […]

  3. […] latest poem experiment here… ‘Three For March’ […]

  4. […] makes me feel better and more light-hearted.  So light-hearted, in fact that I wrote three  Haiku poems about Spring, plants, even daffodils! […]

  5. […] Haiku: Three for March […]

Leave a Reply

